Skip to content

Snapple Facts and FISH

July 22, 2010

I should be taking a nap right now. I had the means, motive and opportunity. I tried for over an hour, and finally gave up. Last night, I was up until 3:30 (revisions). My mind won’t always shut down when I need it to. Often, it’s buzzing with story ideas or visions of my characters, past, present, or future. But sometimes, I get hung up on the silliest things. (I did mention this blog would include *random thoughts*, didn’t I?)

I love Snapple tea. I drink too much of it. (Really annoyed that the only flavor I can find lately is peach, though.)Under each Snapple cap is a “Real Fact”. Yesterday, my Snapple fact was: Only male fireflys can fly. I’m bothered by that. What’s the point of being a “fly”, if you can’t? Poor she-fireflys. Don’t give up! Maybe someday. (Did I also mention that I’m sleep deprived right now?)

And then there’s the thing about the trucks that have FISH printed on them. This has bothered me for more than fifteen years now. I can’t tell you how many times I would look at DH (before he was DH) when we were passing one of these trucks and ask, “WHY does it say FISH? Trucks carrying beef or chicken don’t advertise it on the back!” He’d just laugh at me. Still does, though I haven’t mentioned it in years. So suddenly I realize, sheesh, this is the age of the Internet and all…I’ll Google it and finally have my answer. Well, much to my dismay, there was no one clear answer. Some plausible theories and comments I found on the Net:

1) This is a Texas thing. Something to do with state law…legislation passed in 1985 that required vehicles transporting fresh fish to be marked by Texas Parks & Wildlife Department code. Trucks loaded with fresh fish shouldn’t be delayed…so the designation indicates the carrier is in compliance so inspectors can move on to unmarked trucks. (I don’t quite follow this logic…doesn’t it sound like anyone transporting *something* they didn’t want to get caught with would just write FISH on their truck?)

2) Fish is one of the most perishable commodities, and the FISH designation gives these trucks priority when arriving at a receiving dock. (This makes sense to me.)

3) Fish is smelly. So the trucks/trailers are marked FISH so that the transport companies won’t use them for anything else.

4) Due to break-ins, one food product distribution company began marking FISH on their trucks to curtail thefts. (Huh? I guess the thinking here is that the food product thieves would not want seafood?)

and then there was this comment on a forum where people were looking for the same answer I sought:

“Why do people care if a truck says fish on it?…..No one on Earth cares about fish and trucks. No one.”

(Um, I do.)

If you know the answer, please put me out of my misery.

From → This just in...

5 Comments
  1. My father works in logistics, so allow me to shed some light on the subject. All truck drivers descend from the most ancient of shipping means–sailboats.

    But in the olden days, fish had no the benefit of ice, and therefore required the most skilled shippers.

    Today, the truckers who have accrued the most miles and who are considered to be at the height of their profession, are tagged with the FISH logo.

    It commands respect and also allows them to pass other trucks on the left without inciting an incident.

    theBrad (Verla poster.)

    • Hi Brad, thanks for stopping by…and now, at long last, I can sleep at night 😉

      (Will this work on my mini-van, for the school pick-up line?)

  2. I stumbled on your blog after clicking through a few after mine – and I sat up – I just stayed up until 2:30 doing revisions on a MG which are due all too soon – and I was drinking Snapple AND this was supposed to be the hour that I took a nap. So happy to find out that I’m not the only one out there today.

    And the FISH thing is to keep cats excited. The ones who can read. Everyone knows that.

  3. Hi Anne, I’m glad you found me! You are definitely not alone.

    Of course…the CATS! (But, can’t *all* cats read? I know my dogs can.)

  4. Fun place to visit.

    And sadly, no, this will not work in the pick-up line or in at Chik-Fil-A.

Leave a Reply

