Skip to content

Write, Query, Wait…and write some more.

August 7, 2010

There are so few agents who represent authors who write picture books, in addition to MG & YA. I understand why, but it’s still a bit disheartening. (Here’s a great post on this topic by agent Michael Stearns of Upstart Crow Literary…they are closed to queries for the summer, btw) I’ve queried a small handful of agents so far, and now I have to hunker down and wait. And write. And maybe wait some more. I have three WIPs buzzing around in my head and they’re very different. One is a PB. A follow-up to another (completed) PB that I really love. They are not dependent on one another, but in the same vein. One is a YA novel in verse that I seem to be writing backwards. I didn’t set out to do this, but that’s how it’s revealed itself…I’m going backwards, exploring a family history that culminated in the ending I’ve written. The third is also a YA. Realistic, but set in the future (for now anyway). I don’t want to think about which one is more marketable, but I find myself wondering about that as I sit down to write each day. Let’s be optimistic: all three types of stories have their place and their peeps!

On a totally unrelated sidenote, here is Mama Racoon (most definitely a Mama), who has been helping herself to the birdseed for who knows how many nights now, while I blamed it on the cute, pudgy squirrels.

Cleaning the plate

Mama racoon

From → On Writing

2 Comments
  1. Great pictures!

    PB placement can be disheartening. I was just at SCBWI and while an agent said that PB’s are hard to place right now, they are loved by agents and editors alike, and they’re always looking fro great PB’s.

    Keep your chin up and keep plugging along. You never know when just the right book will reach just the right editor or agent.

    Christy (via Verla Kay)

    ChristysCreativeSpace.blogspot.com

    • Thanks so much, Christy! Timing is everything, isn’t it?! It’s great to hear that agents and editors still love–and still watch for–great PBs, even in this tough market.

Leave a Reply

