Skip to content

Have you ever tried NanoWrimo?

September 10, 2010

Tempting. I might have to give it a shot this year, if I’m not already in the hot-and-heavy, adrenaline-rushing, seductive, middle-ground of a draft. That sounds sexy, doesn’t it? But it doesn’t look sexy when it’s happening. Anything but. More like: hair pulled into a messy ponytail, old pajama bottoms and fuzzy slippers, no makeup, bloodshot eyes, and a glazed over expression, especially when asked anything not-related to my writing that requires more than a “yes” or “no” answer. (DH: “What should we have for dinner?”  Me: “Uh-huh.”)  My family indulges me during this part of my writing cycle. I always come back to them 😉

So…have you ever tried NanoWrimo? Did you make it to 50K? Was it just what the doctor ordered, or not your cup of tea?

From → On Writing

4 Comments
  1. I am going to *try* it this year. We shall see how well I do. 🙂 Pop over and let me know if you choose to take the plunge, we can keep each other motivated! 🙂

  2. I participated last year and made it to 50,000 words. I took it seriously and wrote every day. The stress was unbelievable but fun, and I found out they were right. It was garbage. I did not plan anything ahead of time. I just started writing. There is no time to edit as you go and I finished but it was a total mess. However, I learned so much about my voice that I’m going to do it again this year. This time I’m going to have a plot plan and some major character work done ahead of time. By the way, the novel was so bad, I trashed the whole thing. It was too awful to try to salvage through editing and revising!

    • Thanks for weighing in, Catherine! That’s great advice….to put some time into character development and voice ahead of time. And you never know, maybe you will eventually use something from that story in a future one…even if just a small detail, bit of description, or character quirk!

Leave a Reply

