Skip to content

Flat-tire Tuesday

October 12, 2010

Today started with a 5 a.m. cry from my four-year-old’s room…here’s how the day went:

An allergic reaction to *something* had given him a huge, swollen lip and hives. DH & I took him to the pediatrician’s office. (An hour away. I know, I know. But our pediatrician is so good we don’t mind the drive.) Had a loooong wait because they were working us in. Then a trip to the lab, which was another loooong wait. Then a quick stop for lunch, only to come out and find we had a flat tire. A screw was the culprit. Couldn’t put the spare on because it turned out the spare was flatter than our flat. Drove just down the street to a gas station & put enough air in the tire to buy us some time. Drove around looking for a place to have it repaired. Stopped at several tire & automotive places that had long waits. Finally found one that could do it in 30 minutes. Settled in for another wait, with one tired little boy (now on ‘roids and getting agitated) on our hands. Mechanic pulled a 3 inch screw out of our tire, patched it up, and got us on our way, just in time to pick up other two kiddos from school and finally head home to several loads of laundry waiting on me, a sink full of dishes, and nothing planned for dinner.

I’m tired and I didn’t get any writing done today, with the exception of this whiney post. But when I was tucking my little boy in to bed (swelling gone & itchy hives now under control), he asked me to lay with him for a few minutes. He pulled his blanket up over me, rubbed my arm, kissed my cheek, and sang me a lullaby…a combination of lullaby and good night and rock-a-bye baby, with an I love you, mommy worked in. And then I sang him one…kissed him…told him I love him to the moon and back. And then my day wasn’t bad anymore. It was perfect.

From → On Writing

2 Comments
  1. Isn’t parenthood exciting? You just have no idea from one minute to the next what’s going to happen.

  2. What an awful day, but nice that it ended on a wonderful note with your son. Hope the rest of your week has been a whole lot better!

Leave a Reply

