Skip to content

E-topia?

October 28, 2011

E-this, E-that, E-everything.  And I know you’re just dying to read yet another blog post on the changes to the publishing industry and book sales with the surge in e-readers. I actually think technology is nifty. I get my daily news from the Internet. I’ve become semi-addicted to tweeting.  And I love posting random thoughts or tips or inspirational whatsits on my blog–and reading the same on others’.

Technology is (mostly) great.
Except when I think about future generations of kids who might never walk into a big library and get that overwhelmed-in-a-good-way, heart-racing, fluttery feeling of being surrounded by thousands and thousands of books and wondering how they will possibly read them all in one lifetime, and in which section they should begin. I stumbled upon some of the most delightful books that way when I was a kid…just getting lost in the library, reading jacket flap copy of book after book until I found the ones I couldn’t put down.

We own a lot of books too…old, favorite, hand me downs, and shiny new hardcovers we couldn’t resist. If I had to guess, I’d say that between myself, hubby, & three kids, we probably own somewhere in the neighborhood of 800 books. I ran across this article a couple of days ago: 15 Signs You’ll Raise a Genius. Here’s # 5:

A child who is raised in a home containing at least 500 books is 36 percent more likely to graduate from high school and 19 percent more likely to graduate from college than an otherwise similar child raised in a home containing few or no books.

Of course studies like this are very arbitrary, and there are any number of lists out there telling parents what to do, or not do. But #5 really got me thinking about how this will translate for kids who are raised in houses without books, not because of socioeconomic factors, but because the family’s reading material comes from electronic sources only. There’s something so wonderful about holding a book and turning the pages. Not just richly illustrated picture books either. All books. Great authors (and illustrators) are artists of the highest calling, in my opinion. E-readers can be a wonderful tool to distribute their work to scads more people than might have seen it otherwise. But…here’s the thing:

The book, in its tangible form, is what turns the words into a work of art that I can hold in my hands, pass down to my children, and truly appreciate.

chemistry,emoticons,emotions,experiments,faces,geniuses,glasses,science,scientists,smiley,smiley faces,smileys,smilies,smily,smily faces,test tubes,tubesSo, getting back to that article…am I raising three geniuses in my house of 800 books? Who knows?

But I’m definitely raising three book lovers!

Have a great weekend!

From → This just in...

4 Comments
  1. I grew up with thousands of books at home, and have raised my kids the same way. It’s hard to imagine that one day the image of shelves stacked with books will be deemed historic. Like ‘period furnishings.’ Instead one or two slick and slim E-readers will rest on special designed stand.

  2. I definitely have more than 500 books in the house. Yay, my daughter’s going to college! LOL

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. My Fear Of Book Signing « Poems That Dance
  2. Overcoming My Fear Of Book Signing « Poems That Dance

Leave a Reply

